A website for discussions about any type of cancer, including lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, laryngeal cancer, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and others
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: high dose chemo.......

New User

high dose chemo.......

Hi Everyone......i am somewhat new to this website and have read through a LOT of the other blogs....and i just have to say that my heart hurts for everyone else going through this lovely brain tumor stuff..

I am 29 years old and was diagnosed in august of 2008....i have had two surgeries, my lovely little eggs harvested and pretty strong chemotherapy (temodar, irenatecan and avastin). My last mri looked 'good' my surgeon said....however, i never asked her to define her 'good' statement. NOW i am just beginning my high dose chemo and stem cell reinfusion at the City of HOpe. Yesterday I started my first of five days on the temodar, mon and tues i go in for my thiotepa and friday i go in for my stem cell reinfusion....lame to ask and i feel even more lame asking online....but has anyone had this treatment??? i know that chemotherapy is different for every person out there.....but I am just looking for some pointers.

My wishes again, for everyone out there....keep up your hope and DO NOT BE AFRAID OF GETTING AS MANY OPINIONS AS YOU WANT. It doesn't matter what a doctor says...you find one that YOU agree with and is going to do what YOU want to do. xoxoxo[/b]

Re: Chemo stratagies...

Tremodar was given to my father. As far as we saw it worked well. There was no real bad hair loss, no pain, he took it in an easy pill form. The only 2 problems that we saw were
    A) is that it is a "radiation form". If anyone is planing pregnancy or young kids are around, the doctors cautioned our interactions with the medication. It had to be wrapped in foil to be handled by me, which worried dad because he had to stick it in his mouth....