A website for discussions about any type of cancer, including lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, laryngeal cancer, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and others
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Do positive lymph nodes on a pet scan mean lung cancer is recurring?

Newbie New User

Do positive lymph nodes on a pet scan mean lung cancer is recurring?

Hi, I am a newbie who is looking for information. My 82 year old mom was diagnosed with non small cell lung cancer almost 3 years ago. She was stage IIIb. After chemo and radiation, she has been able to enjoy very good quality of life since treatment ended. Recently, her pet scan showed several 2 cm lymph nodes glowing on the opposite side of her chest. Does anyone know if this means her cancer has come back? We are seeing her oncologist soon but my mind is working overtime. We have been extremely grateful for the extra time we've shared so far but this is really worrying me. Many thanks for reading.

Pet scans can show false results. I'm so glad she has had good quality of life for three years. I would wait and see what the onc says. a
    May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favour. Born 1960. Diagnosed 4/2011 with one tumor, LUL, NSCLC. Tumor size 1.1 inches. Thoracic surgery 6/1/2011. No action taken. Eight weeks of radiation and chemo. Carbo and Taxol. Follow up with four rounds of Carbo and Alimta.
    December 2011 CT scan shows all clear.
    April 2012 CT scan shows all clear. July 2012 had several x-rays taken at the chiropractor for shoulder pain. Took them to the onc and nothing suspicious noted. See them again in Oct.