A website for discussions about any type of cancer, including lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, laryngeal cancer, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and others
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New to melanoma

Newbie New User

New to melanoma

Hello,
    I am new to melanoma. I have one question that I am concerned about. First, I am stage 1a, Breslow of .45 and a Clark level lll. My path report stated that there was radial growth and vertical growth. Should I be concerned with the vertical growth?
    Thanks

Super Moderator Top User
    JDM;

Short answer YES. That vertical growth is represented by the Breslow depth, (.45 in your case).

You and I are very similar, I am at T1a No Mo with a breslow of .47.

Not a bad place to be if you have to have mel.

Good Health.
    Last edited by cvp208; 03-11-2012 at 12:22 AM.
    Jeff
    Melanoma Stage IA
    Currently NED

Melanoma Facts: http://www.nccn.com/images/patient-g...f/melanoma.pdf

Newbie New User
    Thanks for the answer,Jeff. So, do I have to worry about the vertical growth now or just thank the good Lord it is gone. Also, what about melanoma cells roaming round in my body but being kept at bay by my immune system. Is that true?

Super Moderator Top User
    JDM;

If the Mel was removed and they obtained clean margins, (you did have a WLE, right) they you no longer have to worry about the initial lesion.

However, MEL is a very tricky so and so. Residual Mel can be left behind and not be detected. Not trying to scare you by saying this, but the truth is while there are many types of cancers that after x number of years you can be declared "cured"; MEL is not one of them. The residual MEL can come back after 20 years or more. That is why people with MEL are classified as NED, (no evidence of disease) and not cured.

On the bright side, MEL once seen on the skin can easily be removed if taken care of quickly.