A website for discussions about any type of cancer, including lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, laryngeal cancer, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and others
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Oxygen

Newbie New User

Oxygen

Hello, I am a newbie. Someone close to me is fighting stage 4 lung cancer. They have been put on oxygen but as of late the oxygen alone is not enough. They use it when they need to; which is daily and sometimes frequent. But as late the oxygen tank is not enough, and they need an nebulizer with the oxygen.

Is this common, at stage four? They are very frightened because of the laboured breathing. And I worry about their anxiety. as well.

Can someone explain to me the use of oxygen being beneficial. I am a little clueless as why they need a nebulizer as well now. As they have only been only oxygen two weeks.

Thank you for reading.

Well, Summer, the body needs oxygen and "they" are not getting enough of it. When tumors in your lungs take up more room you can't get enough air or oxygen to breath easily. The nebi opens the blood vessels so more oxygen can get into the bloodstream to the rest of the body.

We are a pretty safe community here if you would care to give us some more information. Jody
    May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favour. Born 1960. Diagnosed 4/2011 with one tumor, LUL, NSCLC. Tumor size 1.1 inches. Thoracic surgery 6/1/2011. No action taken. Eight weeks of radiation and chemo. Carbo and Taxol. Follow up with four rounds of Carbo and Alimta.
    December 2011 CT scan shows all clear.
    April 2012 CT scan shows all clear. July 2012 had several x-rays taken at the chiropractor for shoulder pain. Took them to the onc and nothing suspicious noted. See them again in Oct.