A website for discussions about any type of cancer, including lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, laryngeal cancer, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and others
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Anomaly ? Moms CT scan results

Newbie New User

Anomaly ? Moms CT scan results

My mom (55 yrs old) had a right hemicolectomy in March of this year. She was staged as a 2. They tested almost 30 lymph nodes and they were all clear. After two opinions and much soul searching the decision was made not to do chemo. She has severe psoriasis which would have been exacerbated and chemo was slated to only improve her chances by like 2%.

In any case she had her first CT scan two weeks ago. All her blood work has been consistently improving since surgery, and is still "good". But there was an anomaly on the scan where her intestines were rejoined (forgive me if my medical terminology isn't perfect I'm still learning). Initially her oncologist was going to order a colonoscopy, but then changed her mind and has ordered a PET scan first again due to the psoriasis. Psoriasis increases scar tissue formation and her oncologist wonders if that is what was on the CT scan... But I hate to say this I feel like we are being given false hope almost. The PET scan is scheduled for Monday. What should I expect? Tumor recurrence? Or more anomalies?

I know I should just wait and stay positive but we have a family trip planned for the holidays and my mom was SO excited and feeling better... I don't want her or my father or me for that matter to be filled with false hope when it's possible the CT scan results were just down played...

I think she has fabulous doctors whom I trust, I just have a bad feeling.

Super Moderator Top User Hope2012's Avatar