A website for discussions about any type of cancer, including lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, laryngeal cancer, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and others
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The End

The End

I am taking caare of my brother, diagnosed 2 septembers ago, 2 crani's, temador , radiation, he is failing every day, falls down alot, poor cognitive function and all that. I was just wondering what the end will be like, I'm a nurse wwithout brain cancer experience, have not found much info on the end of life, what will his final days be like, his diastolic b/p is getting higher every week, i think it's from increasing pressure in the brain and may herniate, but what's the end like, I and his wife need to be prepared. If anyone has experienced this with a loved one and would feel comfortable sharing with us I would greatly appreciate it.
    Love,
    Susan

Experienced User
    Hi Susan, sorry to read about your brother Dave. My twin brother died at 50 yrs of a brain tumour - I don't know what type as he did not like to talk about it, always thought he would get well. For the last week of his life he was bed bound and slept most of the time probably because he was on diamorphine. The end was very peaceful - it was as if he just went to sleep again but didn't wake up. A local McMillan cancer nurse attended daily and the local GP also came in daily. They were going to move him into hospice but he died before the arrangements could be made. He was in no pain - the doctor made sure of that. I hope your brother is kept as comfortable as Bill was. My love and thoughts are with you at this terrible time.
    Liz.

Experienced User

Re:

Hi Susan,

Sorry to hear that your brother has brain tumor.

The prognosis of brain tumor depends on what type of cancer your brother has and the grade of the tumor. GBM is very different from meningioma or ependymoma.

Jay

Dr. Jay Lu
    Diplomate, American Board of Radiology (Radiation Oncology)

THE END