A website for discussions about any type of cancer, including lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, laryngeal cancer, leukemia, lymphoma, multiple myeloma and others
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Chemo after the Whipple Procedure

Chemo after the Whipple Procedure

Can anyone tell me if they have had experience with Chemotherapy after having the Whipple Procedure. I'm looking for both positive and negative feedback in order to decide if I should proceed with the Chemo using GEMZAR. I had the Whipple Procedure a couple of months ago and there are no signs of further cancer in my body. However, an Oncologist is recommending the Chemo as a preventive messure.

Thank you............Norma

Administrator Top User brainman's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Hi Norma, although I have no first hand experience with Pancreatic Cancer, it is such a terrible cancer that I would take the Chemotherapy suggested by your oncologist. Have the staged it for you? What grade and stage does your medical team say it is?

Here are links to the topics of one of our long-term survivors of PC stage IV who recently died. You will find that "freeio" was a amazing man and knew a lot about Pancreatic Cancer.

http://cancerforums.net/viewtopic.php?p=1543
    http://cancerforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=6486
    http://cancerforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=6939

You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Jim
    Long-term cancer survivor
    1992 Astrocytoma grade 2, left motor strip
    2005 Recurrence this time said to be an Oligodendroglioma grade 3, same location.
    http://cancerforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=2405
    My Story Part 1: http://cancerforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=2528
    My Story Part 2: http://cancerforums.net/viewtopic.php?p=7350
    My Story Part 3: http://cancerforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=8029

Chemo after the Whipple Procedure