PDA

View Full Version : My Mothers Story..

Timothy88
11-02-2009, 11:51 PM
Hello all.. just thought i would post here about my marvellous mother who is still fighting at the moment.. but fast losing strength.

Firstly my names Tim, im 21, and im a student from Manchester, England.

Iv'e been browsing these forums for some time reading peoples stories and i wanted to post mine, and most importantly pay some tribute to my mother who is sadly coming to the end of this struggle, but faces it head on with dignity and strength.

My Mother is 62 years old and coming to the end of her life now, her brush with cancer first started when it went to her womb area.. resulting in having her womb removed, i was only about 3 so i dont know all the details about that one, about 10 years later it went to her breast, i remember her thinking that she wasn't going to get through it, but in her typical zelous and strong ways she fought through breast cancer and after her courses of tamoxifen she managed to pull through and it went into remission.

I was probably about 10 at that time, and i remember thinking 'yay mummys back'.

Sadly about 5 years ago, the cancer was back, but this time it had gone to her bowels, she had some of her bowel removed and she ended up with a colostomy bag.. much to her initial horror, it was irreversible, but she adapted, as she always has done, and tried to move on with her life.

A couple of years past, and about 2 years ago, the cancer had returned AGAIN.. to her liver this time, and she ended up having a portion of her liver removed.. cancer was gone.

6 months or so passed, and my mum got a phone call.. it was the hospital and they had bad news about a recent scan.. the cancer had returned again.. this time it was in her lymph nodes.