PDA

View Full Version : Informational Question Only - Pediatric Cancers

DougD720
11-12-2009, 08:27 PM
Hello All,

First let me say to those of your dealing with cancer My best wishes are with you and your loved ones. As someone who's mother was diagnosed with cancer last spring I know how difficult it is to deal with.

I'm a pre-medical student at Johns Hopkins University who's ultimate aim is to go into Oncology (as Cancer has struck many close to me, a close family friend actually has Stage 4 Lung Cancer at the moment and I've known him quite literally since I was born.)

My questions however are hypotheticals and I'm looking for information. These questions are more geared to medical professionals or people who know a great deal about Pediatric Cancers and if any of these questions offend I apologize, I'm working on writing a novel and need some information on cancers as the patient in the work is a child suffering from Cancer.

My research I have been trying to conduct is very difficult to find specific information on and I'm in the process of trying to speak with professionals one-on-one for this research gathering but doctor's as I have learned and know are very busy people.

If someone could help me out I would greatly appreciate it. While the main focus of the book is on a different issue in the medical community, as I said the patient is a young girl suffering from cancer.

From what I have read thus far it seems that the most painful type of cancer in children is Pediatric Neuroblastoma. However I have been having trouble finding mortality rates for this disease and survival rates.

(Unfortunately) the patient is terminal in the story and it focuses around this. So if someone could inform me of the following I would appreciate it, I know these questions sound terrible, but in order to make this an effective story and to convey the theme of the work, unfortunately, this sort of sentimentalism is required.