A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.

Thread: 1st Chemo treatment and possible mini stroke

Newbie New User

1st Chemo treatment and possible mini stroke

Hi, I'm a newbie in need of answers and support. I am a mother, wife, US Army Soldier going on 18yrs and an only child. I am currently living in Atlanta GA, my spouse and children live in Augusta GA (2hrs away) and my mother and father live in NC (6hrs away). My father was recently diagnosed with NSCLC Stage III and started both radiation and chemotherapy treatments last week. His chemo drugs are carboplatin and taxol. Within minutes (approx. 15) while receiving the chemo treatment on Friday, his skin became very flushed and blood pressure went up to 170. Treatment was stopped and he was stabilized. After approx. 30 minutes, treatment was resumed with no problems. Upon leaving from treatment, he was weak and drained of all energy. On Saturday, the sickness (nausea, vomiting and diarrhea) began along with restlessness and weakness. While walking around in the house, he fell-stated knees went weak and passed out for a few seconds. On Sunday, the sickness had started to subside and he felt pretty good. All day today (Monday) he has been confused about time, day of the week, people visiting, etc. I've the listed the events from today:
    -Woke up rushing my Mom out the house at 700am for his 815am radiation appt
    -Arrived an hour early and didnt know what time it was or why they had arrived so early
    -Went for breakfast, he only ordered juice, then asked my Mom why he didn't get his food
    -Had to be reminded several times that today was Monday and not Tuesday
    -Didn't answer his cell phone because he said it was the phone ringing on the TV show and when the phone rang on the TV show he tried to answer his cell phone
    -Wakes up from naps asking about people visiting