A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.
Page 1 of 30 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: My Chemo Diary

My Chemo Diary

Greetings,

Since this is my first time through this - I thought I would write a little diary here to document how my chemo goes in the hopes that it will help others.

I had my first colonoscopy about a month ago (age 50 male) and they found 8 polyps, one of which had cancer. A week later I had a bowel resection (23 staples!) and they found that the cancer had moved to a lymph node about an inch away. Recovery from that was what you expect from any major surgery - 4 days in the hospital and then about two weeks to get back to normal.

So the CAT is clean, but we are doing chemo as a follow up. A week and a half ago I had a medi-port put in to be used with the chemo treatments. Having the medi-port put in was simple surgery and it healed pretty well so nothing to be worried about there.

Monday (April 23rd) I had my first chemo treatment. Sit in a big comfy chair, they plugged iv bags into the medi port, and then three hours of pre-meds and hydration. Plugging into the port isn't bad, and you can get some topical lotion to put on ahead of time to numb it up a bit before you go in so ask about that.

At the end of three hours they did a push of the folfox drugs and then hooked up the pump that pushes the rest over 48 hours. There is a fanny pack to keep the pump in and once you get it situated it's not that much of a bother. I thought sleeping with it would be uneasy but actually I decided to just sleep with the fanny pack on and that works great!