A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.

Thread: My husband is 1 mo post radical nephrectomy (stg 4 mets to lungs) and won't come home

Newbie New User

My husband is 1 mo post radical nephrectomy (stg 4 mets to lungs) and won't come home

My 42 yr old husband (married 13 yrs) who was diagnosed with stg 4 renal (clear cell) carcinoma with mets to lymph nodes and bilateral lungs had a radical radical nephrectomy nephrectomy on June 3rd and remains to stay at his mother's house that is 1 hr away from our home. He says he wants to stay where he has the best "chances". I am an ICU nurse of 15 years and am more than capable of caring for him at home. I have the ability to take time off or rearrange my schedule to be at home to help him. The other issue is that we have a 10 yr old daughter who has had to live out of a suitcase as she has had to stay at various family members homes and friends as he refuses to come home. The original plan after surgery was for his retired mother to come live with us for the first few weeks after surgery so I could work and save my vacation time for future treatment needs. He has been slow to recover but is able to get up and walk, get his own drinks, shower, and drove his own truck to his mothers after a recent md appt. When I questioned him why he won't come home to give our family a sense of normalcy and not have our family (me, him and our daughter) he told me that I am selfish, his family has been extremely ugly with me (no issues prior to surgery) and school starts in 1 month and he shows no concern that I have to figure out how to get my daughter to school while I work 3, 12 hr shifts a week. He will go back to oncologist at the end of July almost 7 weeks post survey to find out when he will be admitted for interleukin treatments. He states he has no plans to come home till after all the treatments are done and not come home in between between