A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I go for this chemo therapy?

Newbie New User

Should I go for this chemo therapy?

Greetings to every member of this family!! My father has been diagnosed with stage four esophageal cancer at GE Junction. He is 75 years old and is quite week (42 Kgs) now. Doctors has prescribed Palliative Chemotherapy for him with injections Carboplatin AUC 5 and Paclitaxel 175mg/m3. I've heard about severe side-effects of Chimo and really don't want to go for this. If someone can please share their experience and suggest what I should do at this time. Is there any alternative available? I am very new to all this so please help.

Thank you!!
    Sushant Kumar Dubey

Moderator Top User HighlanderCFH's Avatar
    Hello Sushant,

Welcome to the forum with regrets that your father is going through something like this.

I'm basically from the prostate cancer forum, but you should be getting advice from others who have knowledge and/or experience with this type of cancer. Things tend to slow down a bit over the weekends, but there should be a lot of help coming your way as the new week begins.

Sadly, it sounds like your father may be nearing the end stages of this terrible disease and it could be that the pallative chemo might make him feel more comfortable and keep his quality of life as good as possible.

But let's see what others -- with more knowledge in this area -- have to say.

I just wanted to drop in and say hi and that others will be chiming in with advice for you in the next day or two.

Wishing the best for your father,
    Chuck
    July 2011 local PSA lab reading 6.41 (from 4.1 in 2009). Mayo Clinic PSA 9/ 2011 = 5.7.
    Local uro DRE revealed significant BPH, no lumps.
    PCa Dx Aug. 2011 age of 61.
    Biopsy DXd adenocarcinoma in 3/20 cores (one 5%, two 20%). T2C.