A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.

Thread: Friend with refractory AML

Senior User

Friend with refractory AML

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the leukemia forum. But not new to cancer forums which has been a support to me during my illness. I'm a lymphoma patient currently in remission. Sadly Im writing here for my dear friend who was diagnosed with MDS in February this year after being in remission from DLBCL for two years. She had her lymphoma treatment at Memorial Sloan-Kettering. And treatment for the MDS at Memorial Sloan-Kettering as well but MDS progressed to AML. Since that time she has participated in a clinical trial to Columbia-Presbyterian with a drug that targets CD33. We found out definitively today that the drug is not working. They are now suggesting sertraline (Zoloft) in combination with timed sequential cytosine arabinioside (ara-C) with cytarabine. The goal is to get to transplant. She has a sibling 100% match ready and waiting. I understand from my own physicians who I have inquired with about her case that this disease is very difficult to treat. Not that any are easy. I'm looking for any input about options, success, trials etc. keeping in mind that she is already a patient at Sloan-Kettering and has an excellent team of doctors. Just want to make sure we are not over looking possibilities. There is such a wealth of information here on cancer forms with all of you contributing your experiences. Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.
    Mary
    Diagnosed Sept. 2011
    Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma - Diffuse Large B-Cell Stage 4
    6 rounds R-EPOCH and Prophalaxis Methotrexate at rounds 1, 3 & 5
    PET after round 2 NED, PET after round 6 NED
    Remission officially Jan. 2012
    May 2012 PET NED
    Nov 2012 CT NED
    March 2013 relapse, started R-ICE X 2
    June 2013 Autologous Stem Cell Transplant
    August 2013 Auto Transplant failure