A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.

Thread: Shocked by metastatic ovarian cancer diagnosis

Newbie New User

Shocked by metastatic ovarian cancer diagnosis

Hello,
    This is my first time posting and I'm actually writing on behalf of my mother who is in shock by this whole thing. She was seen for bloating, heartburn and abdominal pain that was getting worse over the last few years. Transvaginal u/s revealed tumor in both ovaries, as well as fluid...she is post menopausal. CA125 is 3400 and CT scan also revealed masses on colon, throughout abdomen, and something questionable on the base of her lung. Her hysterectomy (plus abdominal mass removals, and possible resection of her colon) is on Friday but between her anxiety (she's on med for that) and her terrible abdominal issues she isn't eating, she feels like she won't keep it down. Now she's worried she won't be healthy enough for surgery. Any advice on how I can help her? She speaks with the surgeon again tomorrow but I'm trying to be proactive on her health leading up to surgery/chemo as well as fighting this cancer. Thank you so much.

Hello Bridge

So sorry to hear of your mom's troubles. I am glad she has you to help her out and that you have reached out to us. Has any biopsys been done? We have a saying around here that is is not cancer until a biopsy confirms it. I see her Ca levels are very high but a biopsy is still needed. Still sounds like surgery is what is needed as a first step to help her get healthy again no matter what. Often there at fibroids that show on ultrasounds and most times there are not cancerous. Let's hope that is her case. Still the other masses are very concerning I agree. I am just trying to hope against some odds for her (and you) right now.