A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New pain

New pain

Hi my name is Steve. I am retired and have been happily married to the same great gal for 36 years. We have four children and one grandbaby. I am a Veteran of the Vietnam War and the War on Cancer. I have had Cancer for about 15 years. I have beat it every time. My problem is it comes back for more. I currently have SCC as my name suggests. All my Cancer started with Skin. Basil first. It has morphed now and infecting Muscle, Nerves, Fatty Tissue, and just about anything it comes into contact with. I have undergone about 12 MOHS Surgeries, Same amount of Radiation Sessions, and two Major Surgeries. The Surgeries were in August and November of last year. I had a Tumor that was first removed by MOHS and skin grafted. Then treated with Radiation. It came back both times. I then had the first Surgery but after it had spread pretty bad. They removed the right side of my face from my Temple area down to my Adams Apple. They took everything out. Lymph Nodes, Saliva Gland, Nerves Muscle, and inner ear. They used my left Thigh to rebuild this area. Two weeks after that Surgery it appeared again and in the same areas. They opened me up again and removed everything and repaired the area with my right Thigh. Before putting me back together they laced the area with Radioactive Seeds to kill anything they might miss. Three weeks latter it was back. I am having these Surgeries done at Jefferson Memorial Hospital in Philadelphia. I was there today to talk to the Surgeons and this is my next plan of attack. To take anymore off with removal they would have to take everything on the right side of my face. The option they gave me was a study. They infuse me with a Chemo Med that contains an element that attaches itself to the Cancer Cells. It is highly sensitive to light. After the injection I go home an