A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.

Thread: Question regarding best biospy option

Newbie New User

Question regarding best biospy option

This is my first post to this forum. I have a question regarding the best course of action to take in my particular situation in terms of endometrial biopsy.

My doctors want to rule out either primary endometrial cancer or metastatic breast cancer to the uterus. My background is below, but first, my main question is--what is the best biopsy method available? What will yield the best results and the most complete information without being more invasive than the situation warrants?

1) In-office endometrial biopsy

2) Hysteroscopy

3) Hysteroscopy plus D & C

The radiologist recommends #2, my gyn has offered #1 and #3 as options. I am waiting to talk to the gyn in person, so I want to be informed prior to that conversation.

My background is as follows:

I was diagnosed with invasive pleomorphic lobular breast cancer in 2007, and had a local recurrence in 2015. My sub-type of breast cancer (pleomorphic lobular) has a propensity for spreading to the ovaries and uterus. I was on Tamoxifen from 2007-2015, when my breast cancer recurred while still taking it. Tamoxifen use increases the risk of primary endometrial cancer. I had an endometrial biopsy while on Tamoxifen in 2014 due to abnormal bleeding. It was negative.

My current breast cancer oncologist checks tumor markers, and my CEA is currently abnormal. From 2007-2015, my CEA was always between 2.7-2.9. When I had my local recurrence in 2015, it was 3.3. I went for two years without the CEA being checked, and as of the past four weeks, it has been 6.5, 7.2 and 5.9. Anything over 3.0 is considered elevated.