A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: prostate personality change

Newbie New User

prostate personality change

My brother recently had a prostatecomy and has never been the same since. I am a Clinical Psychologist and have noticed the significant changes. Of course I am aware of the environmental and social factors but these in no way account for this personalty change. He has become more hardened and less empathic and only interested in one desire, to build an aeroplane. This I do not object to, but it is his lack of human concern which worries me. I don't know if anybody else has experienced anything similar, but I would like to know.

Robert Wojciechowski B.Sc. M.Sc. C.Psychol. A.F.B.P.S
    Consultant Chartered Clinical Psychologist

Quote Originally Posted by derbyrobert View Post
    My brother recently had a prostatecomy and has never been the same since. I am a Clinical Psychologist and have noticed the significant changes. Of course I am aware of the environmental and social factors but these in no way account for this personalty change. He has become more hardened and less empathic and only interested in one desire, to build an aeroplane. This I do not object to, but it is his lack of human concern which worries me. I don't know if anybody else has experienced anything similar, but I would like to know.

Welcome to the Forum, Robert. If the surgery was recent and for prostate cancer, is it possible it was dealing with the cancer that has brought about this change and not the surgery itself? Have there been consequences from the surgery that are troubling him? It takes time to learn what the final outcome will be regarding ED and/or incontinence. Do you think those are factors in play? Have planes been a long-time hobby or is this something new? Perhaps you can use your skills to get your brother to talk about things.