A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Should I get a prostate biopsy?

Newbie New User

Should I get a prostate biopsy?

Hello.

I'm new to this, so I apologize if I am asking something stupid or something that has already been discussed.

I am almost 51 years old, and my urologist recommended a prostate biopsy. I almost always follow a doctor's recommendation, but after reading about some of the possible effects of a biopsy, I am a bit hesitant. Also, my PSA scores do not seem that elevated, based on what I have read.

My first PSA was 2.51.
    My second PSA (three months later) was 2.13.
    I do run a lot, which I hear might raise the PSA level.
    Digital exam did not detect any enlargement.

Anyway, I was just curious if anyone had any ideas about whether the doctor is being too cautious (if there is such a thing), or whether I should just suck it up and get the test.

Thanks.

Welcome Dutchman90! Glad that you have arrived at The Forum without a PCa Diagnosis! There is a wealth of info available here along with multiple friendly and supportive members.

Since none of us are MDs or qualified medical professionals, we can't dispense medical advice. But we will gladly share our experiences and suggestions.

A few questions:

- What reason(s) did your URO MD provide for wanting to do a biopsy?

- Do you have a family history of prostate cancer (PCa)?

It certainly is possible to have PCa at a normal PSA level. Your PSA appears to have gone down from 2.5 to 2.1. Likely, your PSA is bouncing up and down slightly - which is not unusual. Typically, but not always, a PSA that is rising due to PCa tends to continue to rise vs drop.