A website to provide support for people who have or have had any type of cancer, for their caregivers and for their family members.

Thread: my father- we need help with deciding next steps

my father- we need help with deciding next steps

Hi there- I am very new to this topic overall and brand new to this forum.

My father in law was 70 in June. In August, he found a lump in his lymphnode. Scans also found a tumor in his brain (right frontal lobe) and in both lungs. Stage 4 lung cancer was the diagnosis.

He had the tumor in his brain removed. He began serum chemo through a port right after recovery- two types, I don't know what, as well as an anti-nausea. He did that for six weeks. He was very uncomfortable, slept 20 hours a day, felt half dead, couldn't hold a train of thought. Scans showed no further growth and the tumor in his lymph node gone.

He then started on tarceva in hopes he would tolerate it better. He did. Scan after a full course showed that while there was not new growth, his sugar levels were elevated (?) which meant growth was eminent? Doctor said he should go back on the chemo right away.

They put him back on one type of serum chemo through the port and he is miserable again. He has expressed that if he is going to feel miserable, he wants to be able to anticipate a better outcome, he wants to go on the offense and find stronger better treatments or regimens.

He is being treated in High Point NC and wonders if he should seek an assessment at Duke or Wake Forest for new options.

Does anyone have any advice? I asked a friend who is an oncology nurse, she advised us to have him ask his doctor for a second opinion, but I think he wants a different option, a specific program or something? We just want to do all we can to support him in this and feel really lost.

Thanks for reading...

Joy

Newbie Top User

Re: my father- we need help with deciding next steps

Quote Originally Posted by joyanne